Local Provisions Schedules

The Tasmanian Planning Scheme is being rolled out across the State as the Local Provisions Schedule (LPS) for each municipality is approved by the independent Tasmanian Planning Commission (the Commission).

The Local Provisions Schedules indicate how the State Planning Provisions (zones and codes) will apply in each local municipal area. They will contain the zone maps and overlay maps or description of places where the codes apply.

They will also contain local area objectives and any planning controls for unique places specific to the local area. These unique areas can be in the form of particular purpose zones, specific area plans, and site-specific qualifications.

To further meet their communities’ needs, councils are responsible for preparing their LPS in consultation with local stakeholders and community members. Councils must submit their draft LPSs to the Tasmanian Planning Commission for consideration prior to the public exhibition and assessment process.

The Tasmanian Planning Commission has released a series of practice notes to help councils draft their Local Provisions Schedules.

Dorset Council is the latest municipality to come under the Tasmanian Planning Scheme.

The Tasmanian Planning Scheme is now in operation within the councils listed below.  Links are provided to each Council Local Provisions Schedule (along with the accompanying State Planning Provisions) on the Tasmanian Planning Commission website:

Brighton LPS

Burnie LPS

Central Coast LPS

Circular Head LPS

Clarence LPS

Devonport LPS

Dorset LPS

Flinders LPS

Glamorgan Spring Bay LPS

Glenorchy LPS

Launceston LPS

Meander Valley LPS

Northern Midlands LPS

Sorell LPS

Tasman LPS

West Coast LPS

West Tamar LPS

Review our frequently asked questions to find out more about Local Provisions Schedules.